Evaluation Question #4

Who would be the audience for your media product?

My magazine is aimed at a teenage and young adult audience between the ages of 16-26. I aimed to produce a magazine that would appeal to as wide demographic as possible as i could and I did this by ensuring that my magazine appealed to both genders and was not gender specific. For example by using my main colour pallet and house style as red, black, white and grey I have catered for both males and females and none of the colours are associated with one specific gender.

Male target member    male
Ben, 18-year-old, male, studying at college for his A-Levels. He listens to a wide range of rock music from indie rock, to alternative rock and further to punk rock as well. Ben loves discovering new bands that he has never listened to and exploring their music online before purchasing albums and records. Ben attends college every day and usually spends his evenings studying, meeting friends or attending gigs or concerts. His weekends consist of very similar activities; attending festivals such as Reading & Leeds Festival, in the summer period. Ben’s choice of fashion is alternative consisting of predominantly black, white and grey.  He usually wears clothing either from alternative clothing shops such as Urban Outfitters or he shops in clothing outlets and from clothing lines such as Hype Clothing or Drop Dead Clothing. Ben also likes to spend time on his mobile or laptop to use the internet to look at upcoming gigs and tours and searching for new music on YouTube. He also uses social networking to keep up to date with his favourite bands and artists.

Reader Moodboard   image1
Lily, 21-year-old, rock music fan who is very interested in the music and media industry. She thoroughly enjoys attending gigs, festivals and concerts regularly in her spare time and enjoys going out and spending time with her friends being social. Lily spends a lot of time on the internet (when not studying, working and spending time with her friends) she enjoys reading magazine articles online as well as in weekly and monthly issues. Additionally, she aspires to the clothing, style and look of many of the ‘rock stars’ featured within the magazines she reads and she loves buying new clothing to fit in with the alternative rock style. She often shops in Urban Outfitters or Topshop. She has a part time job working for a local journalism company, but she is also studying at University as well. This means that she is in the C2DE social class bracket and the price of Vexed! magazine would be £1.75, which is a reasonable price for Lily to spend weekly on the magazine.

I asked a member of my target audience how they felt the magazine appeals to them:
“I think Vexed! magazine appeals to me because I fall within the target audience they are trying to reach, as I am 18 years old. I also feel that it appeals to me because I am interested in the genre of music that it covers. I love alternative rock, heavy rock and metal too, I like bands such as Bring Me The Horizon, A Day To Remember, Max Raptor and many others as well. I already read weekly magazines such as Kerrang! and therefore because Vexed! is weekly too I would be interested in reading it as well. I am currently studying my A-Levels at sixth form and therefore I dont have a lot of money and the price of Vexed at £1.75 is not too expensive.  I really enjoy attending gigs and festivals and therefore if Vexed! includes information on upcoming events I will be very interested in reading the magazine and will definitely buy it for the foreseeable future”

Vexed! very own mood board:
Mood Board

Leave a comment